Suspended license charges in Rhode Island present a myriad of issues when looking to have these charges expunged from your record. Unlike many other criminal charges, the sentence for driving on a suspended license in Rhode Island can vary from case to case, court to court, and Judge to Judge. Generally speaking, for a first offense driving on a suspended license in Rhode Island one can expect to find the following possible sentences:
- Dismissal pursuant to Rule 48A
- Dismissed with Court Costs
- $250 Fine plus Court Costs
For expungement purposes, the Dismissal pursuant to Rule 48A (which means by the Prosecutor/Police) and Dismissed with Court Costs are treated the same. Both are immediately eligible for expungement after the dismissal is complete (as long as you do not otherwise have a Felony Conviction on your record). There is no Court imposed expungement fee to have the case removed and there is no waiting period before the case can be expunged and removed from your record.
If you were charged with a first offense driving on a suspended license and were sentenced to a $250 fine, you need to review your other criminal history to determine if you are eligible for expungement. If you have no other criminal record, you would be eligible to have the case expunged from your record after waiting five years from the date of the conviction. If you have other charges/convictions on your record, it is in your best interest to have an experienced Rhode Island Expungement lawyer review your record and determine if you are eligible to have the case expunged from your record. If you are eligible to have the case expunged from your record, once the process is complete the Court will impose a $100 expungement fee payable to the Court in which your case was handled.
If you have ever been charged or issued a ticket for Driving on a Suspended License in Rhode Island, contact Attorney Matthew Marin today for a no obligation expungement consultation to determine if the case can be expunged and removed from your record. We are available 24/7 at 401-228-8271 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
#rhodeislandexpungementlawyer #rhodeislandexpungementattorney #rhodeislandexpungementlaws